livingthrufaith

a blog about life, family, and faith

I’ve Fallen in Love…

2 Comments

with German mortar smear!

image14

Fixer Upper

I watched this week’s episode of Fixer Upper on HGTV with Chip and Joanna Gaines and fell in love!

I mean I always love what they do to each house. (I even liked the mid-century modern one from last season and I don’t like mid-century modern!)

https://magnoliamarket.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/image20-1.jpg

Before and After

German smear is a process where mortar is spread on the bricks then some is brushed off to expose part of the brick underneath.   It’s. So. Cool!!

 It gives the house this old world European look.
{sigh}
Yep, I’m in love and Brian is worried!
(Click here to see what Joanna did with the inside of the house.)
Living thru faith,
Misty
2 thoughts on “I’ve Fallen in Love…

  1. I see German Smear in Brian’s future……early spring weekend project….put on his calendar now. LOL

  2. I fell in love with this house too. Now I want to do the ‘German smear’ on the brick backsplash in my kitchen. I would sure appreciate it if someone can give me the recipe for this mortar or tell me where to get it, Thanks a bunch. Good luck with your/Brian’s spring weekend project Sharon Wall…. 😉

Leave a Reply

