livingthrufaith

a blog about life, family, and faith

Dust Ruffle Curtains

Leave a comment

I’m so not a seamstress.  Not even close!

I can (usually) sew a straight line, but don’t expect much more than that.

I had been looking for a valance for the kitchen since we moved in a couple of years ago.  However, I couldn’t find anything I really liked and, of course, I didn’t want to spend much at all.  So, when I found a dust ruffle at Goodwill with the right colors for only $2.50, I thought “if I screw it up I’m only out $2.50, if not I’ll have a curtain for only $2.50!”

A dust ruffle already has 3 finished sides and I had expected to use the two longer sides for the kitchen windows, but ended up only using one.  To begin, I used a seam ripper and removed one of the long sides from the center panel.  It took longer than I expected and my hand was feeling a bit cramped, but it wasn’t a difficult task. (I finished separating the rest of the sides and I’m saving those pieces and the center panel to use in later projects I might find to do.)

IMGP0112edited

After I finished removing the side from the center panel, I ironed the panel out smooth.

IMGP0118edited

Then I turned the unfinished side over and sewed a straight hem.

IMGP0121edited

I decided to hang the curtains from clips for a more casual look.  At first I only bought one set of clips, but after getting the curtain up I realized I needed two sets for such a long window.  I found the clips at Bed, Bath, and Beyond for $7.99 for a packet of 7.  With the first set I used a 20% off coupon, but I really scored on the second set!  Between the weather and schedules, I didn’t get back to the store for a couple of weeks (which was driving me crazy because I wanted to finish the project!).   But it was so worth the wait!!  There was a promo for 40% off which I didn’t realize till I was checking out and I had another 20% off coupon.  I got those suckers for $2.53!!  Ok, I admit, little things thrill me these days!

IMGP0158edited

The curtain rod we purchased at IKEA awhile back and it’s been hanging up there empty for I don’t remember how long.  It’s been so long that I can’t remember exactly how much we paid, but it was either $6 or $8 (rod, brackets, end caps, everything).  Have I ever mentioned how much I love IKEA?!

IMGP0154edited

So, for less than $20 I ended up with the whole shebang!

Next week, I’m going to tell you about that chandelier hanging there….

Living thru faith,

Misty

Leave a Reply

