livingthrufaith

a blog about life, family, and faith

Country Come to Town

Leave a comment

I’m not really a country girl, but I’m not a city girl either.  I’m more like a small town Southern gal.

You know the kind of place where you smile at a stranger as you walk past, a gentleman still opens a door for a lady, you always say “yes, ma’am” or “no, ma’am”, going across town only takes 15 minutes (20 minutes in heavy traffic), the first thing you do when a friend is hurting is deliver food, and if you ask someone if they want a “coke” you are referring to any soft drink not just coca-cola.

So, when we get a chance to stay in a REALLY nice hotel, I’m just not sure I know what to do!  🙂

We stayed at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club for a conference a few weekends ago.  It was a lovely place and we really did enjoy our stay, but in some ways it also made me a little uncomfortable.  There was always someone there to help us out of the vehicle, we were always greeted with a smile and hello when you passed an employee, and the furnishings were comfy and cozy.  I think it was the opulence that made me feel uncomfortable and I’m much more comfortable serving others than being served.

The room was beautifully decorated in calming blues and yellows, with a very comfortable four poster bed.  It felt like we were staying in someone’s guest room, not a hotel room.

bed

Once I got past the $7 bottle of water…

water

and $3 bowls of goldfish…

menu

I settled into the perfect reading chair.

chair

Of course, Brian’s favorite part was the Keurig coffee pot in the room!

coffee

The bathroom was luxurious and even had a phone by the toilet (I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t bring myself to take a picture of that!).

tray

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to take pictures while we were on the Duke campus, but I couldn’t resist stopping to take a picture of the chapel lit up one night.

chapel

One day I hope we will be able to go back and walk around the campus.  It looked like it was a beautiful place to be.  Of course, unless we are there for a conference, I’m sure we will be staying in a not-so-high-falutin’ hotel. 🙂

Living thru faith,

Misty

Leave a Reply

